Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Handbook 2019-2020

Consumer Protection Information Overview

In compliance with the Higher Education Amendments of 1998 and consumer protection practices, Mayville State University provides information to current students and employees about the institution. In addition, all prospective students, prospective employees, parents of current and prospective students and members of the general public may obtain this information upon request. Specifically, this information is supplied in compliance with the Drug Free Schools and Communities Act, The Campus Security Act and the Student Right to Know legislation. The following information is available at the MSU Web site at the following address:

http://www.mayvillestate.edu/about-msu/Pages/ConsumerInformation.aspx or by referencing the cited university documents. It may also be obtained, upon request, in printed copy from the Student Services Office in Main 112C (Phone: 701-788-4770). Andrew Pflipsen, Vice President for Student Affairs, is the designated university employee to contact for assistance in obtaining any of the following information:

Financial Assistance Information: A description of the financial assistance programs available, the application procedures, eligibility requirements, criteria for selection, criteria for determining the amount of an award, satisfactory progress standards, disbursement methods, loan terms and the conditions and terms for employment provided as part of a student's financial assistance package. Available in the MSU catalog and from the Financial Aid Office (Main 106).
Institutional Information: Refund policies, return of Title IV assistance and requirements for students who withdraw from the institution. Also includes cost of attendance, academic programs, faculty and facilities, accreditation and licensure, special facilities and services for students with disabilities, contact persons for financial assistance and institutional information and information regarding study abroad. Available in the MSU catalog.
Code of Student Rights and Responsibilities and Student Disciplinary Process: Includes expectations for student behavior and the rights and responsibilities of all students. Includes information about due process procedures for students who violate university and other rules and regulations. Available from the Student Services Office (CC 106).
Information on Completion and Graduation Rates for All Students and Student Athletes: Includes information about cohorts (groups) of new, full time, first time undergraduate freshmen who enroll in the fall term and who complete degrees within six years, or who transfer to another four year program within that time frame. Specific information about the completion and graduation rates of student athletes within each cohort is also provided. Available in the Student Right to Know - Completion and Graduation Rates report.
Institutional Security Policies and Crime/Fire Statistics: Includes a statement of current policies and procedures for students and others to report criminal actions occurring on campus and policies concerning the institution's response to those reports. Includes a statement of current policies concerning security of and access to campus facilities; a statement of current policies concerning law enforcement on campus; a description of the type of programs designed to inform students and employees about campus security procedures; and a description of the programs designed to inform students and employees about the prevention of crimes. Statistics concerning the occurrence on campus of criminal offenses reported to local police agencies or to any official of the institution are gathered and documented for the following crimes and incidents: murder, rape, robbery, aggravated assault, burglary, motor vehicle theft, hate crimes, and violations of campus liquor, drug and weapons possessions regulations. Fire safety in campus residence halls is also addressed, including fire safety measures and occurrences of fire incidents in these facilities. Policies and procedures for dealing with missing students who reside in campus housing, including appropriate notification methods
are also outlined in this document. Available from the Student Services Office in the Campus Crime and Security Act Report.
Sexual Violence/Misconduct Policies: Includes information about campus programs to ensure compliance with federal Title IX regulations that prevent sex offenses, and procedures to follow when a sex offense occurs. Also includes procedures for campus disciplinary action in cases of alleged sex offenses; sanctions the institution may impose following disciplinary proceedings and availability of resources and support for sexual assault victims. Available from the Student Services Office in the Sexual Violence Policies and Related Information report.
Alcohol and Drug Policies: Includes a statement of institutional policy regarding the possession, use and sale of alcoholic beverages and illegal drugs and the enforcement of federal and state laws governing underage drinking and use/possession of illegal drugs. In accordance with the 1989 amendments to the Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act, as articulated in the Education Department General Administrative Regulations (EDGAR) Part 86 (Drug Free Schools and Campuses Regulations) Mayville State University attempts to ensure that every student, faculty member and staff person is informed about Mayville State’s alcohol and other drug policies.
Equity in Athletics: Includes information about the number of male and female students enrolled at the institution including the number of athletic participants for each team. Also includes the total operating expenses for each varsity team, the gender of each team's coaching staff, the amount of money spent on athletically related aid for male and female sports teams, the ratio of athletic aid awarded for male vs. female athletes, the amount of money spent on athletic recruitment, the total annual revenue generated by athletic teams and the salaries of head coaches of all varsity teams. Available from the Student Services Office in the Student Right To Know – Equity in Athletes Report.
Because of federal reporting requirements, this report may not be available until Oct. 30.
Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act: Includes the type of information maintained by the university on and for each student. Also designates individuals and offices that have access to specific pieces of information, specific data that is considered directory information, records not available to students, procedures for release of information and material not considered to be part of a student's record. Available from the Office of Academic Records or the University catalog.


MSU’s Website http://www.mayvillestate.edu/about-msu/Pages/ConsumerInformation.aspx contains a copy of these policies. Prospective students and other interested parties are advised that they can also access the policies at the above web address or they may also request a printed copy of the policy from the Student Services Office.

Student Concerns: Student concerns about specific issues should generally be addressed to the respective office or university employee for resolution. Following are specific processes that students should follow for prompt resolution of concerns:

A. Students who have concerns about classroom related matters (including matters related to the instructor, teaching materials, methodology, classroom environment, physical facilities or other matters resulting from normal classroom activities) should follow the following procedure:
Discuss the situation with the instructor to see if resolution can be reached. If the problem is still not resolved, contact the instructor’s Division Chair for assistance. Situations still not resolved should be brought to the attention of the Vice President for Academic Affairs. If the situation has not been resolved through this procedure, students may contact the President of the University for final resolution.
Grade appeal processes are handled differently and are outlined in the Student Handbook.
B. Students who have concerns about billings, business operations, institutional charges, etc. should contact the Business Office in Main 108. Financial billing issues related to policy or university procedures should be directed to Jami Hovet, Vice President for Business Affairs.
C. Students who have concerns about financial aid awards, scholarships or the processing of financial aid should contact Shirley Hanson, Director of Financial Aid in Main 106. Issues related to financial aid policies or procedures should be directed to Andrew Pflipsen, Vice President for Student Affairs, Main 107.
D. Students who have concerns about their official admissions status or their academic standing should contact Pam Braaten, Academic Records in Main 114. Issues related to admissions and academic standing policies should be directed to the Vice President for Academic Affairs and issues related to admissions procedures should be directed to Misti Wuori, Director of Admissions and Extended Learning, Main 102.
E. Students who have concerns about specific student services such as housing, food services, academic support, career development, student health services, counseling, student programming or special services should first contact the director or professional in charge of that program. Concerns may also be addressed to Andrew Pflipsen, Vice President for Student Affairs, Main 107.
F. Student athletes who have questions or concerns about eligibility or athletic awards should contact the respective coach. Issues related to institutional or NAIA policies or institutional procedures should be directed to Mike Moore, Athletic Director.
G. Students who have concerns about technology related issues such as laptop, access to computing resources, etc. should contact the Help Desk in lower level of the Byrnes-Quanbeck Library. Concerns about institutional policies and procedures related to the use of technology should be directed to Keith Stenehjem, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Main 112.
H. Students, parents, or alumni who have questions or concerns about alumni status, alumni information or contributions to the university should contact the MSU Foundation Office, Main 112.
I. Students who have concerns about the condition of specific facilities or grounds should first contact the manager of that building or grounds area. Issues may also be directed to Staff in Main Building 29 (facilities operations) or Bob Kozojed in the Campus Center Building 113 (custodial services).

In the event that a situation cannot be resolved through ordinary and normal procedures with the respective staff person or Vice President, students may contact the University President for final resolution.