Skip to main content

Education Library Resources

A guide to education related resources available from the library.

Education eBooks Available...download one now

Adult Intentions, Student Perceptions: How Restorative Justice is Used in Schools to Control and Engage

Provides the opportunity to delve deeply into the stories of two schools and the adults and young people who inhabit them, and consider the broad impact that differing educator understandings of restorative justice have on students.

Handbook of Research on Engaging Immigrant Families and Promoting Academic Success for English Language Learners

The Handbook of Research on Engaging Immigrant Families and Promoting Academic Success for English Language Learners is a collection of innovative research that utilizes teacher professional development models, assessment practices, teaching strategies, and parental involvement strategies to develop ways for communities and educators to create social and academic conditions that promote the academic success of immigrant and English language learners.

Leadership for Learning

The focus of this book is on different aspects of leadership and governess for learning in the early childhood education and care (ECEC) sector, which serves children aged 1-5 years. Internationally, the discourse on the ECEC sector is interwoven with the discourse on early intervention, where ECEC is viewed as laying the foundation for lifelong learning, eliminating child poverty, and fostering social inclusion within an increasingly diverse population.

Activating the Modern Classroom

Activating the Modern Classroom includes practical tips for elementary-grade teachers to address pressing classroom challenges. In the book, teachers will learn strategies, and the science behind them, to activate language arts, literacy, math, social studies, and science curriculum in ways that improve student behavior, increase student focus, and enhance student'academic engagement and performance.

Lesson Plans

In Lesson Plans, Judson G. Everitt takes readers into the everyday worlds of teacher training, and reveals the complexities and dilemmas teacher candidates confront as they learn how to perform a job that many people assume anybody can do.

Curiosity Works

Curiosity Works: Moving Your School from Improvement to Innovation dives into McREL International's new Curiosity Works™ approach for school improvement and innovation. It's for K-12 educators and school leadership teams who are ready to drive what goes on in their building rather than be buffeted by the latest trends. It's about harnessing the power of curiosity to advance student learning and teacher effectiveness.

Teaching with Compassion

Teaching with Compassion offers practical tools and strategies designed to help educators foster a culture of care and compassion. Organized around an eight-point "Teaching with Compassion Oath," this book draws on real life examples and exercises to demonstrate the power and potential of teaching from the heart. Written for both experienced and novice educators alike, Teaching with Compassion is sure to stimulate inquiry and provide ongoing inspiration.

Secrets of the Savvy Teacher

You can abandon rote learning with this middle and high school teaching guide. Encouraging both students and teachers to unlock their creativity, the authors provide guidance in lesson planning and ideas for creating unconventional homework, projects and tests that are cost-free and easy to implement. This book leads teachers away from endorsing competition and teacher-pleasing behavior, and offers ideas for independent thinking that will strengthen students' decision-making, deductive reasoning and emotional intelligence.

What School Could Be

An inspiring account of teachers in ordinary circumstances doing extraordinary things, showing us how to transform education What School Could Be offers an inspiring vision of what our teachers and students can accomplish if trusted with the challenge of developing the skills and ways of thinking needed to thrive in a world of dizzying technological change.

Science with Storytelling

This book is about the intersection of storytelling and science. Recognizing that humans are hard-wired for narrative, this collection of new essays integrates the two in a special way to teach science in the K-6 classroom. As science education changes its focus to concepts that bridge various disciplines, along with science and engineering practices, storytelling offers opportunities to enhance the science classroom. Lesson plans are provided, each presenting a story, its alignment with science (Next Generation Science Standards), language arts (Common Core State Standards) and theater arts standards (National Core Arts Standards). Instructional plans include a rationale, preparation, activities and assessment.

Exploding the Castle

This edited volume is designed to anchor collective thinking with respect to the value added nature of games for learning and the complexities involved in player experience, narrative context, and environmental player interactions. As could be expected, we are not interested in debates about “gamification,” game violence, individual game quality, and other topics that have become standard fare in extant games literature. Instead, we seek to emphasize issues of scalability, the induction of player goal adoption, affordances of game?based instructional environments, relationships between play and transfer, and the value of games as part of an ecopsychological worldview.

Best Bets for Education Research

Education Research Databases
Limit Your Results

Search for books and DVDs that can be mailed to you from the Byrnes-Quanbeck Library.

The majority of resources you will use as a nursing student at MSU will be academic journal articles, accessible via the other tabs. However, as an MSU Distance Student you are able to have print materials sent to you through the mail. 

Find books to support curriculum
Loading ...

Library Basics

You can access library resources off-campus by logging in with your North Dakota University System (NDUS) username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Campus Connection and Blackboard. When you click on a library database that requires you to log in, it will redirect you to the screen below. Once you have logged in successfully you will be taken to your original request.

ODIN login page

Items not available from the Byrnes-Quanbeck Library can be borrowed from other libraries across the world. If you find the full-text of an article you require is not available in the database you are using, click on the Find it @ MaSUbutton, usually found on the left-side of the page. If full-text is not available in any of the other library databases, click on the Request document via Mayville State Interlibrary Loanicon. You will be taken to a pre-filled ILL Request Form. Fill out any information with a red asterisk. When your article is available you will be notified via email with instructions on how to access it.

Distance students: Add "I am a distance student" to the Free text note area so your materials can be mailed to you if you are requesting a book or other print material.

ILL Request Form

As a Mayville State student you are able to checkout any materials you would like from the library. However, before requesting a book from us, you may want to look in your local library to see if they possibly have what you are looking for, or if they can obtain it for you. If the materials you need are not available through your local library, you may submit a request to us and we will send the materials to you. Keep in mind that it may take up to a week or more to receive the materials, depending on where the books are coming from and where you are located. It is a good idea to make sure the item you want is available before sending a request.

After finding a book or other resource in the library's catalog, request the item via ILL. When filling out the form, add a comment in the notes field stating you are a distance student and need the materials mailed directly to you.

The materials will be sent to you free of charge, but you are responsible for the return postage (usually between $2-$4 depending on size and weight of book) and for any replacement costs if the book gets lost (including mail loss).*

*Dual credit students may return materials to their high school library to return to Mayville State IF approved by the high school librarian.

Loading ...