Byrnes-Quanbeck Library: Nursing Division Library Resources: Nursing Home

BQ Library's Nursing Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all of the nursing-related EBSCO databases available via the library all at once. You will find both full-text and citation only results which can request copies of through the library's Inter-Library Loan (Fetch Item) program. Links are provided to other databases if the article is available in non-EBSCO products.

BQ Library Catalog (Primo) This link opens in a new window
You can use the library catalog to search for both physical and digital materials available from the library.

This includes journal articles, books, DVDs, systematic reviews, etc.

The number of results can be overwhelming, please do the following to limit your results:

Login with your NDUS Credentials to see the complete results and make it easier to save articles to view later.
Change the scope of your search by clicking the small arrow on the right side of the search box and choose Articles.
On the left side of the page, consider tweaking your results. You can include terms and areas by clicking on the left side of the list or you can remove things by clicking the right side. For instance, you may end up with too many Open Access results and want to limit the results to only things provided by the library.
1. Availability: Available Online & Peer Reviewed
2. Subject Terms: Choose the terms that best match your search
3. Resource Type: Articles
4. Creation Date: Choose the range of the last 10 years

PubMed This link opens in a new window
A search engine accessing the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. It is freely accessible but by using this link, you will see a "Find it @ MSU" option in the upper right corner. This button allows you to easily determine if MSU has access to the article, and if not, request it through inter-library loan.

Library Basics

You can access library resources off-campus by logging in with your North Dakota University System (NDUS) username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Campus Connection and Blackboard. When you click on a library database that requires you to log in, it will redirect you to the screens below. Once you have logged in successfully you will be taken to your original request.

screenshot

screen shot

NDUS Account Information
Use this NDUS Account Information link if you are having difficulties with your credentials.

Items not available from the Byrnes-Quanbeck Library can be borrowed from other libraries across the world. If you find the full-text of an article you require is not available in the database you are using, click on the get it at MSU button, usually found on the left-side of the page. If full-text is not available in any of the other library databases, sign in using the yellow box and view the Resource Sharing Options. You will be taken to a pre-filled Request Form. Fill out any information with a red asterisk. When your article is available you will be notified via email with instructions on how to access it.

Distance students: Add "I am a distance student" to the Comment area so your materials can be mailed to you if you are requesting a book or other print material.

As a Mayville State student you are able to checkout any materials you would like from the library. However, before requesting a book from us, you may want to look in your local library to see if they possibly have what you are looking for, or if they can obtain it for you. If the materials you need are not available through your local library, you may submit a request to us and we will send the materials to you. Keep in mind that it may take up to a week or more to receive the materials, depending on where the books are coming from and where you are located. It is a good idea to make sure the item you want is available before sending a request.

After finding a book or other resource in the library's catalog, request the item via ILL. When filling out the form, add a comment in the notes field stating you are a distance student and need the materials mailed directly to you.

The materials will be sent to you free of charge, but you are responsible for the return postage (usually between $2-$4 depending on size and weight of book) and for any replacement costs if the book gets lost (including mail loss).*

*Dual credit students may return materials to their high school library to return to Mayville State IF approved by the high school librarian.