Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HPER Library Resources

A guide to library resources for students taking courses in the health, physical education, and recreation fields.

Searching for HPER Resources

The library has access to a wide range of information on health, physical education, and recreation. With so many different options for databases it can be confusing. To help you out, we have created a few search options to help you out.

EBSCOhost Search

Health and Physical Education Research Databases
Limit Your Results

Using this HPER EBSCOhost Search, you are searching the following databases: Academic Search Complete, AHSF Consumer Medication Information, Alt HealthWatch, CINAHL Complete, Consumer Health Complete, MSU's collection of EBSCO eBooks, GreenFILE, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MEDLINE with Full Text, OpenDissertations, Professional Development Collection, Science Reference Center, and the Science Reference eBook Collection.

logoByrnes-Quanbeck Library Catalog Search

Use this search box to find resources from the entire BQ Library. The search defaults to only resources from the library's catalog but you can change the search to view everything or only online materials using the drop down menu on the search bar once you are in the catalog.

If you receive too many results switch to either the EBSCOhost or the Proquest search to limit your results to only HPER resources.

ProQuest Databases Search

The library's ProQuest databases are geared toward nursing students but they can be helpful to HPER majors as well.

Library Basics

You can access library resources off-campus by logging in with your North Dakota University System (NDUS) username and password. This is the same username and password you use to access Campus Connection and Blackboard. When you click on a library database that requires you to log in, it will redirect you to the screens below. Once you have logged in successfully you will be taken to your original request.

screenshot

screen shotscreen shot

 

Items not available from the Byrnes-Quanbeck Library can be borrowed from other libraries across the world. If you find the full-text of an article you require is not available in the database you are using, click on the get it at MSU button, usually found on the left-side of the page. If full-text is not available in any of the other library databases, sign in using the yellow box and view the Resource Sharing Options. You will be taken to a pre-filled Request Form. Fill out any information with a red asterisk. When your article is available you will be notified via email with instructions on how to access it.

Distance students: Add "I am a distance student" to the Comment area so your materials can be mailed to you if you are requesting a book or other print material.

 

As a Mayville State student you are able to checkout any materials you would like from the library. However, before requesting a book from us, you may want to look in your local library to see if they possibly have what you are looking for, or if they can obtain it for you. If the materials you need are not available through your local library, you may submit a request to us and we will send the materials to you. Keep in mind that it may take up to a week or more to receive the materials, depending on where the books are coming from and where you are located. It is a good idea to make sure the item you want is available before sending a request.

After finding a book or other resource in the library's catalog, request the item via ILL. When filling out the form, add a comment in the notes field stating you are a distance student and need the materials mailed directly to you.

The materials will be sent to you free of charge, but you are responsible for the return postage (usually between $2-$4 depending on size and weight of book) and for any replacement costs if the book gets lost (including mail loss).*

*Dual credit students may return materials to their high school library to return to Mayville State IF approved by the high school librarian.