Byrnes-Quanbeck Library: HPER Library Resources: K-12 Library Databases

K-12 Databases

Explora Primary This link opens in a new window
Designed for elementary school libraries, Explora Primary is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Students can learn about a variety of topics, including endangered species, famous musicians, fitness and space exploration.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Explora is EBSCO's research interface designed specifically for students and educators. The secondary school version features relevant and reliable content and easy-to-use functionality to help high school students successfully complete their research.
Gale In Context: Elementary This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits), introduces elementary school students to database searching with easy-to-use resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: High School Edition provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for middle- and high-school students to use for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a range of subjects—from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.
Gale In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
newsela This link opens in a new window
North Dakota OER Commons Hub This link opens in a new window
An online library linking OER to North Dakota content standards.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
A reader's advisory tool recommending fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks. Includes read-alike recommendations, book reviews, and appeal factors to assist readers in finding their own style. Also included are discussion guides for book clubs and a variety of best-of and award winners.
Pebble Go and Pebble Go Next This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo is a curricular content hub specifically designed for K-5 students. Packed with informational articles, ready-made activities, and literacy supports for students of all abilities, it boosts engagement and fosters independent learning in core subject areas. North Dakota libraries have access to animals and biographies for K-3 students and states and American Indian history for 3-5 students.