Byrnes-Quanbeck Library: HPER Library Resources: Cochrane Library

The library's subscription to Cochrane will end on 2/29/24.

Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
The library's subscription to Cochrane will end on 2/29/24.
This collection is an essential source of high-quality healthcare data, not only useful for providers and patients, but also for those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession.

The BQ Library subscribes to the Cochrane Library through EBSCO's database Cochrane Collection Plus. This allows you to use EBSCO's familiar platform when searching Cochrane databases. The Cochrane Collection Plus database searches the following Cochrane Databases: Clinical Answers, Systematic Reviews,Central Register of Controlled Trials, and the Methodology Register.

Each database is different and you can learn more about each one by scrolling down this page.

Cochrane Clinical Answers This link opens in a new window
The library's subscription to Cochrane will end on 2/29/24.
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform point-of-care decision-making

Provides entry points to the Cochrane reviews in a user-friendly format for researchers and laypersons
Each contains a questions and a short answer from the outcomes in Cochrane systematic reviews
Creation is prioritized to reviews that are relevant to decision making and have a wide audience
A great starting place when looking for research ideas and guidance

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
The library's subscription to Cochrane will end on 2/29/24.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements.

Each review is prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group
Attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question
Created with explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view to minimize bias
Updated to reflect findings of new evidence

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials.
CENTRAL records will often include and abstract but do not contain the full-text of the article. However, in the BQ Library's database, full-text records are linked, if access is available.

Records taken from: PubMed, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, and WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
Abstracts may be included but no full-text
Find it @ MaSU link will find the content in one the library's databases or pre-fill out a form so the library can get a copy from a participating library
Cochrane Review Groups maintain collections of controlled trials for their area of interest in Specialized Registers
Also includes unique content not already in PubMed

Cochrane Methodology Register

Cochrane Methodology Register This link opens in a new window
The library's subscription to Cochrane will end on 2/29/24.
The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. No longer updated.

Bibliography of publications that report on and methods used in the conduct of controlled trials
Includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings
Does not contain full text
No longer updated after May 2012